buy_Missing_Gretyl_now_amazonI am super pleased that in the few years since I wrote Learning Linocut, it has sold really well on Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com and even become a no.1 Amazon bestseller in its category.

Please find below some of the reviews that I have spotted about the book or been emailed personally or click here to go to Amazon.co.uk to see the reviews on there.

Reviews for Learning Linocut Book by Susan Yeates

335877213.12.11 – “I bought a copy of your book ‘Learning Linocut’ this August, and just to prove that people do really benefit from books like this I attach my Christmas card for this year, my second only linocut, based on a photo of my house ‘Y Nyth’ (The Nest) in Wales, in the deep snow last year.
The book is great and I keep going back and re reading it. Thank you for your inspiration.” 
Graham Hughes, Dec 2011

____________________________________________________

05.05.14 – Just great “This book is just what you need to start lino cutting and it is such an easy going book makes you want to have a go. There are also some great resource lists in the back. Thank you Susan a great book.” Sally Jane Shaw, from  Amazon.co.uk

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

12.04.14 – very useful introduction “I have used this multiple times to produce my own prints. It is and excellent guide and reference book for a beginner.” gimmielinda, from Amazon.co.uk

____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

23.01.14 – This must be the difinitive guide! “After getting nowhere with lino cutting, I put this book on my wish list and got it as a Christmas gift. Whatever your expertise in lino cutting there will be something useful here for you. The author makes no assumptions on previous experience, taking you from the very basics to fascinating advanced techniques with many example illustrations. The huge amount of useful information and step-by-step instructions means that you can pick up on anything from anywhere in the book. The hardest looking tasks are made so easy by the author. My rubbish lino cutting has turned into master works of art overnight thanks to this book. The only minor thing I can find against it is there is a fair amount of repetition in each section, but this makes it all the more fail safe.” F Bingley, from Amazon.co.uk

____________________________________________________

01.08.12 – “Your book LEARNING LINOCUT is by far the best book on the subject. It’s like holding a little treasure in your hand. One of a kind, clear, stimulating.
Merci beaucoup Susan Yeates!” 
Jacques Thibault, Québec

____________________________________________________

27.02.12 – “I have this book by Su Yates. It’s a brilliant book and has really helped my on my degree as has the press that she sells. The books covers a lot of ground in a short space and is always clear and informative. It uses the technical terminology but never waffles on. There are also examples from professional and esteemed printmakers at the top of the game right down to beginner work so there is always something for the individual to begin to understand whatever their level. Kitchen sink methods are also discussed, so this book would make a great gift for someone looking to get into any type of creative craft such Lino/Relief printmaking on a tight budget as well as artists wishing to expand on their craft? skills. Charlie x ”
thestrid82 – from youtube

____________________________________________________

13.11.11 – “I bought this book directly from the author, after doing one of her linocut workshops, and it’s brilliant. The instructions are clear and easy to follow if you are a novice, like me. There is also a lot of sample artwork to give you ideas. I had no idea I’d be able to create such detailed pieces, just from bits of lino!

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in learning linocut, or about it.”
BeeGirl – from Amazon.co.uk

____________________________________________________

31.10.11 – “I bought this book as a present for my sister. She cannot rate it enough. As a novice to linocutting it gives you a contextual background to the craft as well as providing you with a more holisitc approach to your art work with linocutting, for example by giving information about how to develop a sketchbook of ideas and create ideas and designs from sources of inspiration. I think this is invaluable alongside the ‘how to’ practical approach to any craft as the craft is only as good as your imagination. Pictures and projects were all very inspirational. ”
justg – from Amazon.co.uk

____________________________________________________

10.09.11 – This is an indispensable book for anyone interested in linocut printing. Well laid out, with clear step-by-step instructions and examples, it’s the best book I’ve found on the subject. Buy it.
funnyjaybird – from Amazon.co.uk

____________________________________________________

02.08.11 – “I have recently bought and read your book “Learning Linocut” and I wanted to say how inspirational I have found it. Before reading the book I had done my first linocut and since then have been trawling round the internet for more information which is no longer necessary as you cover all the things I want to know about and more.

Again many thanks for a great book.

A bientot from rural France!!”

N.W, France, Aug, 2011

____________________________________________________

Printmaking Today Review, Winter 2011

Printmaking_Today_Review2011